Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Astrid2
Casual Contributor

I need help.

Hi. I really need some advice or help. Or kind words. I’ve been battling with mental health problems for over ten years. And today I woke up and realised I have absolutely zero confidence or hope that things will ever change. In the past I’ve been super positive and made lists, set goals, done things to feel good but I always always come crashing down.

The main issue for me is drinking, I use it to escape the negative thoughts in my head, and as a way to cope with anxiety and stress. I’ve tried to quit for the past 2 years but I fail every single time. I am weak and stupid because I know if I don’t drink it would help me a lot but I still do it

This morning my boyfriend told me he would finish with me if I drank again after a particularly crappy night last night where I got wasted again.

My illness is getting worse and my negative thoughts and behaviour are escalating. I don’t ever see things getting better. I don’t see a future that is bright and it scares me. I will lose everything. I normally have the positivity to see myself through bad days but I just want to give up now.

I’m sick and tired of fighting this mental battle and sick of letting down my friends and family with my illness. I just don’t know where to go from here.

4 REPLIES 4

Re: I need help.

Hi @Astrid2 and welcome to the forum.

I cannot relate to what you are going through with drinking but do understand it is a way to mask the negative thoughts and pain and make things semmingly easier to cope with.