Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

sal2
Casual Contributor

Confused and terrified about admitting my teen into hospital

Hi,

This is my first time posting but I am desparate for any info. So forgive me for my lengthy post.

My 17 yrs old has been struggling with depression and anxiety for years. She has been seeing a a number of psychologist since she was about 8 yrs old but she continue to worsen. She hasn't build trust to be completely open with them even with the one she had a very positive rapport.  

Last year we came to find out she has beeing self harming and suicidal. We have been to CAHMS but discharged to go private for help because she did not connect with them therapeutically. After an absolute nightmare to find a psycj]hiatrist, we are still waiting for our appt late August to review her meds.

She has been medicated for several months now for depression. She left yr 12 and is work with hubby and my daughter in a family run accounting firm. Not her favourite job but she sdoesn't mind it.

We've notice many positive changes in her behaviour, appearing to be doing better but a couple of nights she asked if she can go hospital before she does something stupid. Apparently,her friend has suggested and she has been talking to her friends about but not us. She still struggles with the constant intrusive thoughts and have acted on them even though we have a 24/7 watchful eyes over her.

She is a more disssociative, reserved, compliant and non reactive time of person, She is unable to express emotions, cry and I am yet to see her get angry, defend herself either verbally or physically so it is hard to read her.