Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

KMC
New Contributor

Worried about a carer

Hi, first time poster, hope this is alright. I am posting for some advice regarding a carer. A male friend of mine is in a relatively new relationship with a female diagnosed with BPD. I have very little experience with BPD, so don’t want to cause any offence. I am querying normal behaviours and what others are also living with. My friend is consistently verbally and sometimes physically abused, accused of cheating, is not allowed to go to the store, is being isolated from friends, when allowed out he finds he scans the aisles to make sure there are no females in the aisles so as to avoid confrontation, and is also not allowed to watch tv due to jealousy. Despite what I believe to be abuse, he claims he loves this person and continues to take her back. Is this normal behaviour towards a carer?  The behaviour appears to be worsening and I would like to provide support and assistance to help him leave the relationship, without his partners behaviour worsening or her carry on with threats to self. Any strategies or advice would be most helpful. 

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Worried about a carer

If a male was doing that to a female,

or an adult was doing that to an innocent child,

would you believe that was abuse?