Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Steph27
New Contributor

Lost and concerned..

Hi, i am very new to this and not really sure what i'm looking for...maybe just some advice...

My dad suffers with depression and has done for a many years now, he has been to countless doctors, tried a lot of different medications but never seems to stick to any advice given to him. He misses appointments and doesn't stick to the correct doses of medication. He was an alcoholic for a lot of my childhood and has also been through times of intense drug use. He seems to become addicted to things very easily and i am worried that he is addcited to the idea of depression. It doesn't feel like he wants to get better or seek help, he believes there are voices in his head that make him angry, sad, confused and has very little control of his emotions. He is unable to work and is competely reliant on my mum, who works seven days a week to support herself and my dad. 

My mum has been through a lot with my dad and always stood by him when many would have left, but in the last few years i have seen my mum become more and more unhappy and it kills me to see someone who deserves the best not be able to have it. I dont know what to do or how to help, i am just so worried that this isnt just going to ruin my dads life but my mums too.

I guess my question is, does one persons need for help out weigh another persons right to be happy?

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Lost and concerned..