Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Catobun
New Contributor

Extreme Anxiety and Moving Out Of Home

Hi All,

I'm new here but not new to anxiety. I have had GAD, SAD, and Panic Disorder my entire life. Generally I handle it well, I work full time in a school, I have hobbies and I am active, expect I do have periods when it gets on top of me. I am just recovering from a dark episode that saw me in bed, unable to move, eat or do much but sleep for days. This was all bought on by signing a lease for my first unit on my own and then regretting it.

I am 32 and have lived at home most of my life, except for periods here and there, including a four month stint that ended last week. I can live alone, I actually prefer it, but the idea of signing a lease, getting my own furniture and committing made me spiral. I have since cancelled the lease. Now I'm anxious that I'm the oldest person alive still living with their parents!!!

I am slowly recovering from what the Dr call a "mental health crisis" after he put me on some pretty heavy meds. I'm going back to work tomorrow after three days off - albeit against Dr's orders - because being away is making my anxiety worse as I'm scared they will fire me as I take so much time off for anxiety related things.

To top things off, when I told my bestfriend, she turned it back on me saying that I needed to make a decision if I wanted anxiety to rule my life. I do get that, but when you are in crisis mode and are considered a danger to yourself, I don't know that this comes into it, unfortunately.