Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

janine
Casual Contributor

partner with SZ

Hello, I recently started dating a man with SZ. he told me straight up when we started our relationship that he was diagnosed with SZ less than a year ago. I am a nurse and normally not scared of new things and illnesses but I also have not much experience with Mental Health issues. I recently went away for a few weeks and my BF ( he lives with me ) was left alone at home. Since than I can see a change in behaviours. He has been hearing voices which are becoming more and he also started delusional thoughts like people are watching and he has chip in his head so people can read his mind and he is sending telepathic messages to others through god etc. He has troubles concentrating and is forgetful.He has been on Meds but only on and off as he has bad side effects such as vertigo, feeling depressed and low and not wanting to do anything.He knows he has an illness as he has been to Hospital, voluntarily , for a couple of weeks but sometimes he says he no longer believes that he has SZ and doesnt need any meds. I would like to find a good psychiatrist on the Gold Coast, QLD as my BF is willing to go and see a DR with me, to better treat his condition and have a better way of dealing with it and hopefully find medication that will stop or at least reduce the voices. I can see his daily struggle with himself and his thoughts and I feel quiet helpless and are not really sure how I can help him. I also was interested in a support group on the Coast for both, sufferers and carers. thanks so much for any replies.

11 REPLIES 11

Re: partner with SZ