Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

scotty
Casual Contributor

Sick of being sick

Hiall.This is my first time on here. I have had depression for a few years. I am 65 and am going through a bad time in my life. I feel like just giving up on everything. I dont know what is wrong with me.I just want to shut off the whole world. I dont know what to do

13 REPLIES 13

Re: Sick of being sick

Welcome to the forums, scotty Smiley Happy

Sorry to hear that things sound really tough for you right now. Are you ok and feeling safe? I worry hearing/seeing that you feel like giving up on everything. It sounds like a dark time for you. Smiley Sad

You mentioned that you've had depression for a few years. Have gone through periods of feeling a similar way? If you have, how did you get through it? 

When things start to feel like too much, it's important to reach out for support, like you have done so by coming on to the forums. I'm glad that you've come on here, and have shared how you are feeling. That takes a lot of courage, and I admire the strength you have in opening up. Do you have others around you who provide you with support (family/friends)? Do you see a counsellor or a doctor? I'm not sure what supports you have in place in the moment so I'm going to provide some information (apologies if you already know most of this or have in place already).

- Getting in touch with your GP can be a good first step to addressing how you're feeling. They can do an initial assessment and link you with mental health professional.

- For immediate support, the Salvo Care Line provides 24-hour counselling.

- If you feel like you are at risk of your harming yourself, please contact Lifeline 13 11 44 or 000.