Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

crusader
Casual Contributor

Giving back

Hi all. I am new to livin. My psychologist has been telling me this is a great way to give back..my story probably started when I was young..my dad was samoan..so very harsh towards me I could never do anything right in his eyes..I would hear the words "your useless" alot

I gravitated alot towards my mum..expecting her to shelter me from his harsh ways..then I was a larger kid..I tried sport..going to soccer as a 10yr old coaches would say why are you here your too fat to play..trying to fit in at school..wanting to b accepted..these seeds would remain dormant till my daughter was born..my ex took over and I withdrew..we separated and that probably was the start of depression disorder but it didn't manifest its black dog self till I met my fiance..I would get angry for no reason..agitated then regret it..in 2015 I had a bad neck injury from gym my life went BOOM. I would wake up wanting to end my life. I saw myself as no good..a burden..whats the point..nothing to live for I am the worst partner and father. I went reluctantly to the GP and said..Doc I have a problem". In 2018 a guy I started sydney trains with was killed on the job by a train.I could not get out of bed..whats the point I said. I withdrew..from friends..wanted quit my job..but with the help of beautiful partner who would probably pass special forces selection such is her dogged determination to never give up on me..us..my great psychologist..I am standing here today..in an overall good place..the journey continues..

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Giving back

Hi and welcome to the forum @crusader