Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

TiredPumpkin
Casual Contributor

Carer for brother - Brain Injury, Depression, Alcohol

Hi everyone,
I'm not sure if this is the right space for this, so I'm sorry if I'm wasting anyone's time. I'm very new to this.
Basic background, a year and a half ago my brother suffered a traumatic brain injury after a bad fall down a flight of stairs. With ICU, ward, and rehab all totalled up he spent 5 months in hospital. When he came home his wife left and took the kids after a few months, partly because of the injury and partly due to ongoing alcohol issues (he was intoxicated when he fell).
I took out a second lease on a unit in my complex to house him and I'm now his primary career, he's mostly independent from a physical side, it's more the emotional and cognitive issues that are the struggle. He's unstable, irrational, still alcoholic, and has complete contempt for therapies, despite the fact that he tells his doctors and therapists what he thinks they want to hear.
Add to that the absolutely acrimonious relationship he has with his (separated) wife, and it's just a huge bundle of stress.
I'm not sure if there's any advice out there, and I'm not even sure what to ask for. I guess I was just wondering if there's anyone out there in a similar situation that I could talk to.
Thanks everyone for reading.

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Carer for brother - Brain Injury, Depression, Alcohol

@TiredPumpkin
I just read your story and want to welcome you with open arms. I think carers deserve medals, or at least a willing ear late at night.