Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

ROC
New Contributor

Bipolar

Hi,

I'm new to this so am learning as I go.  I have Bipolar and I am wondering if there is anyone else out there who can relate?  Unfortunately I struggle more with depressive episodes than I do with manic episodes, though I'd much rather be manic than depressed!!  Can anyone else relate to this??

40 REPLIES 40
JT
Senior Contributor

Re: Bipolar

Hi ROC, welcome to the group.

I have bipolar, definitely had more depressive episodes over the years and definitely prefer the manic.  I was treated for depression since childhood before someone finally asked the right questions and I got the right treatment and medication.  

Sounds much like my story ... Treated with Major Depressive Disorder before being correctly diagnosed after the right questions were asked.  Still having meds juggled around.  I'm currently finding it really difficult to cope.  I recently spent 6 weeks in hospital as a result of a major depressive episode.  Unfortunately I also have bad anxiety to add to the mix.  I feel like I have no control over my life these days.  It's so frustrating dealing with the mood swings, but particularly difficult dealing with the depressive episodes.  I worry about the affect it will  have on my son.

JT
Senior Contributor

I think a lot of us are in the wrongly diagnosed bucket. Funnily enough it was when I got a new doctor who decided my anxiety was more in need of treatment than my depression that things started to change. I'm currently in what I calk the holding pattern awaiting a visit to the psychiatrist to alter meds. I don't miss the swings but I hate the flatline feeling.