Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

perseverer
Senior Contributor

Averting a Disaster

I am a teacher, and currently home on holidays. What a difference this makes to my MI family! My husband and eldest son are managing their symptoms, but my middle son is out of control and in denial. I had put his behaviour down to extreme OCD, but a friend observing recently commented that what he is doing is "delusional", and the scales fell from my eyes. As his psychiatrist and I had both feared, he is showing signs of onset of schizophrenia. That makes three adults with schizophrenia all trying to get by in the same home with no permanent carer!

I am sick of wringing my hands, crying and being stressed to the point of exhaustion. I am thinking seriously of setting up a charity to help my family. They need a full time carer. They need a larger home with facilities to aid their rehabilitation and recovery. And they need a passive income managed by a trustee. Does that make sense? Thoughts?

56 REPLIES 56

Re: Averting a Disaster

Hi @perseverer, What happens when you're at work? Do they 'mostly manage'? I understand what you're saying about supported accom and trustees, and that's a long term worry for me, and I'm just dealing with one case of Sz. Your solution might come down to finances and what's affordable. And an alternative is how to make your current place suitable.